Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

A bit of advice needed please


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 chris82

chris82

    Newbie

  • Silver Supporters
  • 8 posts

Posted 24 January 2019 - 01:55 pm

Hi

 

Looking for some advice please and hope I've posted this in the right place.

 

I'm looking to buy a new laptop to run the emulators on as my current laptop and pc are nearly past their best.

 

Was looking to buying something portable or tablet like that runs windows such as the Samsung Galaxy Book or Microsoft Surface / surface pro.

 

Would I still be able to run MFME 6.1, 9.4, 10.1 etc... especially with the smaller screen size of around 10 to 10.5 inch?

 

Does anyone know if the emulators would run ok and would they be playable due to screen size and limited disk space.

 

Any ideas of the size of layouts that would work best?

 

Does it need to be intel or any minimum specs?

 

Thought this would be a good idea as I can work and also play my favourite machines anywhere with the benefits of portability and a touch screen.

 

Any help and advice is much appreciated, thanks again!

 

 



#2 richy1976

richy1976

    The furniture

  • Silver Supporters
  • 2,125 posts

Donator

Posted 24 January 2019 - 02:26 pm

If you want a tablet your best looking for something with a i5 cpu, I have a 1st gen surface pro 4 i5 no probs.
Don't go for a cheap one like a Linx, will give you trouble.

#3 chris82

chris82

    Newbie

  • Silver Supporters
  • 8 posts

Posted 24 January 2019 - 03:07 pm

Thanks. Does all the MFME's run alright and how do the machines look on the screen, do they look squashed or ok?



#4 richy1976

richy1976

    The furniture

  • Silver Supporters
  • 2,125 posts

Donator

Posted 24 January 2019 - 03:19 pm

If a machine has art at the side, it's only going to be tiny unplayable, you would have to edit the machine.
Most modern releases have no side art.
Just use the one emulator, the most recent 6.1, available from desert island fruits site.
Any older machines will need converting to work in mfme 6.1, you will need to load them in mfme v5 to convert them before you can play them in 6.1, I think v5 is on this site somewhere.

#5 chris82

chris82

    Newbie

  • Silver Supporters
  • 8 posts

Posted 24 January 2019 - 03:26 pm

Thanks, I've currently got a folder for each MFME with the layouts in each folder as I have been unable to locate MFME 5 anywhere on here or on the net, its like trying to find a needle in a haystack for some reason, so have just stuck with what I have been doing. Does anyone know where I can get MFME 5 from please? It would be good to be able to use MFME 6 for everything but like you said I would need to convert them in 5 first.



#6 richy1976

richy1976

    The furniture

  • Silver Supporters
  • 2,125 posts

Donator

Posted 24 January 2019 - 03:28 pm

Anything below v5 is not touch screen, i will pm you 5.1 now.



#7 chris82

chris82

    Newbie

  • Silver Supporters
  • 8 posts

Posted 24 January 2019 - 03:37 pm

Thanks :-)



#8 wearecity

wearecity

    MFME v whatever the next version number user.

  • Gold Supporters
  • 1,350 posts

Posted 24 January 2019 - 05:21 pm

I run mine on a Surface Pro 4 when out and about.

 

Make sure it has Windows 10. When v19 of the emulator comes out, you will have the ability to easily get rid of the sideart on both sides of the layout, so the layout will no longer be tiny.

 

I would suggest a minimum of 12".



#9 shaun2097

shaun2097

    Senior Member

  • Regulars
  • 865 posts

Posted 24 January 2019 - 05:39 pm

i hope the following post i posted 2yrs ago might help you in your selection of tablet...... :)

 

POST

 

Posted 15 December 2016 - 09:14 pm

right then, here goes.....

 

i bought a microsoft surface pro 3 i7 tablet this month, just to play mfme v5 on.

MFME V5 ran ok, but only on standard layouts....MPU 4 VIDEO...(MPU4V)...not so good. played very, very slow.

its mpu4 video im interested in running. i know the are problems running the mpu4v games, but i do have copies of the released mpu4v layouts in their proper scaling and not stretched, so this sorts the "slowdown" and sound break up problems that others have experianced. the i7 cpu in the tablet is much newer generation (haswell) than the 1st gen i5 cpu on my shitty laptop. my laptop plays them flawsley, yet the newer i7 tablet still struggled to run them??? and if i ran on battery, it almost stops. even normal layouts slow down, its obviously somthing to do with the power profile within windows. i set everything, cpu and gpu, at full tit, but this was quirky at best.  I changed some system variables (grub-boot64eif) to turn off all thermal throttling of the cpu, at firmware level. (the mfme was hitting around 69-71 degrees, and the firmware was throttling the cpu at 70 degrees by default. i changed it to 80 degrees by default.) this helped a little (no throttle) but not by much.

i had bought the tablet on ebay and so i returned it for a refund.  (£450)

 

So then i bought a DELL VENUE 11 PRO 7139 tablet on ebay (i got one for £199. bargain!) again this tablet had a newer generation cpu than my 1st gen i5 laptop cpu. it has a i5 4000y cpu, 4gb ram, 120gb ssd. this tablet suffers the same heat/throttle/slowdown problems the surface pro above had. i did the same fix to stop the thermal throttle and wacked up everything when running on battery or mains.

RESULT! everything now runs ok, other than the mpu4 video layouts are still a little slow, but i can live with that.

normal layouts run 100%.

i have decided to keep this tablet. it excells at "normal" tasks.

 

i fix mobile phones now days, and the place where i work has quite a few ATOM powerd tablets kicking around. on every one i tried (from the oldest to the latest generation ATOM CPU,) none of them ran the MFME V5 at a "playable" speed. infact, any of the ATOMS over 2yrs old, didnt really "run" at all. 2mins for one spin of the reels.

Im not saying that would be everyones experiance with an ATOM powerd device, (not all tablet makers are equal, and the ones we sell are cheap tat)

in fact, a guy who runs a computer shop next to mine (hes also a member on these forums)has had some sucess with a newer ATOM powerd tablet, but not at the speed i would like to spend too long playing on (he has a newer atom tablet coming this week. ill update when i find out what it is/how it performs)

 

BTW...all other MFME  (3.2 etc) emulators run totaly fine on the top 2 tablets, but ive not tried them on the ATOM tablets.

 

so, to sum it all up......my shitty old 1st gen i5 toshiba laptop runs mfme v5 fine (inc MPU4 VIDEO)...........even better that an i7 surface pro 3 tablet! (go figure a!).....tablets are ok for a quick spin if u dont mind a little slow down.......

 

i hope my above experiance in finding a tablet worthy of MFME V5 helps you decide in getting one. (or not)......TBH..im still looking for such a tablet!...... :)

 

****im sure other people have got it working ok on their tablets. im just a fussy old git. :)******

 

END OF POST.

 

in the end, ive built a totally silent PC for my bedroom with a 27in monitor, which is on a hospital type table (the one you can pull over your lap) and a wireless keyboard and mouse. suits me 100%. :)


Edited by shaun2097, 24 January 2019 - 05:46 pm.

Former Fruit Machine Engineer.<br /><br /> 1988-2004.

#10 chris82

chris82

    Newbie

  • Silver Supporters
  • 8 posts

Posted 24 January 2019 - 07:51 pm

@wearecity I seen the surface has a 12.3 as well so may look into that but at least I know

if I do go for the 10.5 inch then it should still be alright. When does V19 come out?

 

@shaun2097 thanks for the info. Performance reasons was my reason for asking and I'm

still on the fence vs just getting a laptop incase I encounter any issues.

 

Once I decide what to buy I will post a quick update on how things are going, thanks everyone for you help.



#11 richy1976

richy1976

    The furniture

  • Silver Supporters
  • 2,125 posts

Donator

Posted 24 January 2019 - 08:41 pm

The Dell that Shaun had is probably the best out off the £200 mark, I had one as well, but like he said some slowdown on video machines and scorp4 and 5.

Surface 4 is best but at least a i3 and the registry tweak to enable high performance mode.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users