maygay epoch mario kart

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 eggplantUK

eggplantUK

• New Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 09 April 2015 - 07:15 PM

A friend has just bought a Mario Kart fruit machine, his favourite!  The seller had listed it as working.  Unfortunately, his Dad picked it up for him as he was passing the seller on a recent trip, and didn't try it before loading it in his vehicle.  When he got it down here, it wouldn't work.  

The seller says that it worked when he last tried it.  Apparently it took a little time to warm up, then kicked in.

What it's doing:

• It buzzes (mk 1 PSU board) - more of a hiss, I'd say!
  • The red light on the front flashes.
  • 6 lights on the PSU.
  • 3 power lights on the main board - no flashing top light.
  • 3 lights on the reels - reels don't attempt to spin.
  • After 5-10 minutes, there's a funny popping noise, like a machine gun, which seems to be coming from the speaker at the front.

I'm an arcade tech, but I worked mostly on video games - I'm not really familiar with the Epoch from a technical point of view.  So I seek help from those more versed with this technology - advice would be appreciated!

What I've noticed:

• I hear you should remove C5 and C6 from the mk 1 board to avoid fire.  C5 has removed itself - half of it is missing!
  • I probed the big connectors on the PSU (used the case as ground) but didn't get any reading.  There's obviously power, though, as both sets of lights work.
  • The back of the MPU looks like the battery has leaked and made a mess.  It appears someone's scraped the acid mess off.
  • There are two bare pink wires hanging down.
  • There's a connector not attached, but doesn't appear to fit anywhere.

So, my questions would be:

1. Is the PSU likely to be OK?
  2. Considering C5 has blown, is anything else likely to have been taken out?  If so, what?
  3. Would it be worthwhile changing the board for a mk 2 anyway?