Jump to content


Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

slots R Fun table top


  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#21 pinallthetime

pinallthetime

    Newbie

  • Silver Supporters
  • 24 posts

Posted 01 January 2018 - 09:14 PM

I was on holiday this week and it has been extremely cold here in New Hampshire (U.S.A.) so I had some extra time on my hands and I was able to finished by my table top cab build WxLxH (38cmx42cmX60cm).

Attached File  final front.jpg   88.38KB   0 downloads  Attached File  final side.jpg   87.91KB   0 downloads 

 

I added a push button on the top to turn on the PC,  Mgalaxy launches during PC boot and the PC shuts down when Mgalaxy is closed.  The following emulators can be launched from Mgalaxy, MFME, MAME and MK6 (PC version)- these can all be seen in the video.  The intent was to create a gambling games cab. 

 

Mgalaxy

Buttons are mapped for most frequent functions

 

MFME

Runs great and is loads of fun.  Below is how the 16 buttons are mapped 

Top row: ESC,CTR+Q, D, N, P, B, SHIFT+F3, 0

Bottom row:  `,1, 2, 3, C, S, E, SPACE 

As a results of only have 12 buttons for the emulators (4 are used for admin stuff)  I do have to go in and re-map some of the buttons for the different machines.  Mapping the colored lamps in V6.0 is a breeze (shut out to Wizard- Just Awesome).

 

MAME

Buttons are mapped but not the colored lamps 

 

MK6

I have not be able to map the buttons, so still using a mouse for this one. 

 

Without further adieu, I would like to introduce Slots 'R' Fun

Creating videos is not my thing but did want to show the community another example of what can be done (did this with my cell phone) 

 

Thanks everyone!!!



#22 Reg

Reg

    Legend

  • Layout Creator
  • PipPip
  • 577 posts

Donator

Posted 01 January 2018 - 09:22 PM

Very nice job there - very nice.

It's exceptionally cool when you have something like this that you've built from hand - excellent work - you are going to get people putting orders in you know !


 Signature_003.png


#23 ritdav

ritdav

    Junior Member

  • Bronze Supporters
  • 364 posts

Posted 02 January 2018 - 12:34 AM

That looks great.The bottom box is exactly the type of thing i want to make.I don't have the space for a proper machine but would like to make the bottom bit and plug into laptop and put away when not being used so when you have time could you let me know the dimensions of the box and maybe a picture of it all wired up at the back.Its probably more fun for me to try and make it myself but if someone wants to sell me a ready made one i am open to it.



#24 uptown47

uptown47

    Member

  • Gold Supporters
  • 318 posts

Posted 02 January 2018 - 11:50 AM

This looks amazing. All your hard work in the planning stage really paid off. Great work :)



#25 FRUITJUNKIE1971

FRUITJUNKIE1971

    Member

  • Gold Supporters
  • 202 posts

Posted 02 January 2018 - 12:41 PM

All I can say is WOW!.... I want one! :)


hello!

#26 andrewizlegend

andrewizlegend

    Junior Member

  • Regulars
  • 77 posts

Posted 02 January 2018 - 01:20 PM

I agree with the above simply WOW! Let me know if you start taking orders ;)



#27 pinallthetime

pinallthetime

    Newbie

  • Silver Supporters
  • 24 posts

Posted 03 January 2018 - 02:20 AM

That looks great.The bottom box is exactly the type of thing i want to make.I don't have the space for a proper machine but would like to make the bottom bit and plug into laptop and put away when not being used so when you have time could you let me know the dimensions of the box and maybe a picture of it all wired up at the back.Its probably more fun for me to try and make it myself but if someone wants to sell me a ready made one i am open to it.

The box I built is short (4cm) in the front higher in the back (7cm), WxL 37cmx16 cm, photo is in my #6 post.  I ordered the Ipac2, pac drive and wire harnesses from www.ultimarc.com and the square buttons from amazon.    If you are just looking for the  button box you should check out Reg's post #2 in this thread he posted some links for additional info for creating a button box.

 

Give it a shot and post some pics



#28 unclechicken

unclechicken

    Member

  • Regulars
  • 308 posts

Posted 03 January 2018 - 02:48 AM

Having to earth everything is a nightmare. Especially when I made my MAME Japanese CandyCab, the touchscreen was a royal PITA.



#29 ritdav

ritdav

    Junior Member

  • Bronze Supporters
  • 364 posts

Posted 07 January 2018 - 12:19 PM

ok i am about to get going with this but i have no skills and have no experience whatsoever so i will probably ask a lot of idiotic questions.-

2 questions straight up can you confirm exactly what wires(-ultimarc offer a ipac 2 with wires -are they enough?)i need to buy and secondly are the buttons you got 5v or 12 v and if 12v do you need an extra power source or will they be powered ok from my laptop.I do prefer the square buttons.I don't really want to buy a whole kit with round buttons.

Thanks


Edited by ritdav, 07 January 2018 - 12:19 PM.


#30 Reg

Reg

    Legend

  • Layout Creator
  • PipPip
  • 577 posts

Donator

Posted 07 January 2018 - 12:33 PM

Wires - I used a wire spool from Maplins and just cut it to length.  Nothing I brought form Ultimarc had wires.

 

Buttons don't matter.  On my maching I am using real Fruit Machine buttons, it's the bulbs that go into them.  I am using 5v bulbs.  If you buy them on their own, try here...

https://www.arcadewo...e-base-led.html

 

All of this is powered from the USB, note on that guide I publish I have a USB hub that the pacdriver and ipac hang off.


 Signature_003.png


#31 Wizard

Wizard

    MFME Creator

  • Regulars
  • 509 posts

Posted 07 January 2018 - 12:40 PM

I suggest you stick with LEDs as their current draw is much lower than traditional bulbs and the 5v types mean you can tap a 5v from the PAC drive board itself with a little mod. Otherwise you'll have to use the power outputs from the PC psu.


Edited by Wizard, 07 January 2018 - 12:40 PM.

Warning: This post is mostly my own opinions and may contain irony, if you are obsessed with PAST history you may want to ignore it.


#32 pinallthetime

pinallthetime

    Newbie

  • Silver Supporters
  • 24 posts

Posted 08 January 2018 - 02:06 AM

I can't find my invoices but I think this is all of it

 

Square buttons (x2)

NOTE: The Switch interface is 4.8mm terminal and the lamp interface is 6.3mm terminal

https://www.amazon.c...0?ie=UTF8&psc=1

these are 12v but I am running them off the pac drive (5v)

 

Pac drive

http://www.ultimarc.com/pacdrive.html

I think Wizard recommends buy this with the following option

Special (Outputs OFF at power on)

 

ipac

http://www.ultimarc.com/ipac1.html

 

wires

http://www.ultimarc....?xSec=2&xPage=1

1x 4.8mm

1x 6.3mm

Note: when you add to your cart you must choose the 6.3mm

 

 

2x6.3

Note:

Note: when you add to your cart you must choose the 6.3mm

Attached Files



#33 pinallthetime

pinallthetime

    Newbie

  • Silver Supporters
  • 24 posts

Posted 08 January 2018 - 02:24 AM

can't edit top post and it didn't post the pictures correctly

 

I can't find my invoices but I think this is all of it

 

Square buttons (x2)

NOTE: The Switch interface is 4.8mm terminal (need daisy chain and individual wires for each button)and the lamp interface is 6.3mm terminal (need daisy chain and individual wires for each button)

https://www.amazon.c...0?ie=UTF8&psc=1

these are 12v but I am running them off the pac drive (5v)

 

Pac drive

http://www.ultimarc.com/pacdrive.html

I think Wizard recommends buying this with the following option

Special (Outputs OFF at power on)

 

ipac

http://www.ultimarc.com/ipac1.html

 

wires

http://www.ultimarc....?xSec=2&xPage=1

1x 4.8mm

Attached File  3-4 player connectors 4.8mm.JPG   23.91KB   0 downloads

 

1x 6.3mm

Attached File  6.3mm daisy chain.JPG   24.31KB   0 downloads

Note: when you add to your cart you must choose the 6.3mm

 

 

2x6.3

Attached File  6.3 extension harness.JPG   23.83KB   0 downloads

Note: when you add to your cart you must choose the 6.3mm



#34 ritdav

ritdav

    Junior Member

  • Bronze Supporters
  • 364 posts

Posted 08 January 2018 - 10:39 AM

Thanks.
So what is better 12v leds and 6.3 or 5v leds and 4.8mm.I was worried about using 12v on the 5v pacdrive.Is this dangerous or you just get 5v rather than 12v.There a website that lets you select individual buttons lamps and switches in the lamps

#35 ritdav

ritdav

    Junior Member

  • Bronze Supporters
  • 364 posts

Posted 08 January 2018 - 11:05 AM

One further question did you use a usb hub or plug both ipac and pacdrive into you pc ie in two separate usb ports

#36 Reg

Reg

    Legend

  • Layout Creator
  • PipPip
  • 577 posts

Donator

Posted 08 January 2018 - 06:24 PM

Thanks.
So what is better 12v leds and 6.3 or 5v leds and 4.8mm.I was worried about using 12v on the 5v pacdrive.Is this dangerous or you just get 5v rather than 12v.There a website that lets you select individual buttons lamps and switches in the lamps

 

5v LED's

 

I have the IPAC and PACDRIVE both plugged into a USB hub.

My parts etc detailed here...

 

http://www.desertisl...-mfme-keyboard/


 Signature_003.png


#37 pinallthetime

pinallthetime

    Newbie

  • Silver Supporters
  • 24 posts

Posted 09 January 2018 - 12:20 AM

The 5v is what the pac drive is designed for so if you have the option I would go with that. 4.8mn. Vs 6.3mm does matter you just want to make sure you buy the right sized connectors (wires) I have the 2x usb going to the pc no usb hub

#38 unclechicken

unclechicken

    Member

  • Regulars
  • 308 posts

Posted 09 January 2018 - 03:16 AM

I did my MAME cab with a keyboard controller and speaker wire lol, then bodging the touchscreen through a USB mouse cable, total nightmare.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users