Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Renaming your files


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 chris82

chris82

    Newbie

  • Regulars
  • 46 posts

Posted 10 February 2020 - 11:01 AM

Hi guys,

 

Don't know if I've posted this in the right place.

 

I like to keep the files on my computer organised and usually rename things in a certain way. Just out of curiosity, how do you guys rename and organize your files after download. EG; "Pie Factory £15JP" or something like "Vivid - Pie Factory £15 1280" or

"Vivid - Pie Factory £15,30p (1024)"

 

Also do you keep your layouts in a completely separate folder from the emulators, do you put your layouts into the emulator folder or do you go as far as organising you layouts in a folder by jackpot or manufacturer.

 

Also do you store directly onto your pc or on a thumb drive?

 

A bit of strange question to ask, i know, but as you can probably tell i have a bit of an OCD and like to keep things organised but i am genuinely curious as to how others do theirs. 



#2 hitthesix

hitthesix

    Layout Designer

  • Layout Creator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3371 posts

Posted 10 February 2020 - 11:29 AM

I have my layouts in

my documents folder, and all in the tech of the said machines

 

like this.

 

Attached Files

  • Attached File  this.jpg   91.91KB   0 downloads

Edited by hitthesix, 10 February 2020 - 11:32 AM.


#3 chris82

chris82

    Newbie

  • Regulars
  • 46 posts

Posted 10 February 2020 - 11:37 AM

I have my layouts in

my documents folder, and all in the tech of the said machines

 

like this.

 

Looks nice and organised mate :thumbs_up: , plus in your documents folder its easy to find. I have a folder on my desktop, in that 2 folders one for emulators and one for layouts but looking to change as im paranoid the wife deletes it by mistake or something.



#4 hitthesix

hitthesix

    Layout Designer

  • Layout Creator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3371 posts

Posted 10 February 2020 - 02:27 PM

Looks nice and organised mate :thumbs_up: , plus in your documents folder its easy to find. I have a folder on my desktop, in that 2 folders one for emulators and one for layouts but looking to change as im paranoid the wife deletes it by mistake or something.

Best to have  a back up too, i have them all in a zipped folder, and of course you can upload them to cloud, (one drive) or another file hosting website.

that way if your wife deletes them , you can always download them again.



#5 vectra666

vectra666

    No1. Lurker

  • Layout Creator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 8881 posts

Donator

Posted 10 February 2020 - 06:41 PM

mines on my desktop in alphabetical order with the emulators in the same file at the bottom

also have them on a external drive thingy with all my other Fme resources crap

Attached Files


The more I do today, The less I do tomorrow.
Fme is alive and screaming into the 21st century!
Enjoy FME and Happy Gaming!!!!

#6 chris82

chris82

    Newbie

  • Regulars
  • 46 posts

Posted 10 February 2020 - 07:03 PM

mines on my desktop in alphabetical order with the emulators in the same file at the bottom

also have them on a external drive thingy with all my other Fme resources crap

 

Cool. Most of mines are DX layouts, the only classics i have is nitro otherwise i probably would have put dx and classic in the file names as well. Ive ordered a 16gb thumb drive just for backing up fruit emu stuff only, which gives me tons of room. Do you have all the different layouts in the same folder then, so you know which emulator to use? Thanks for the reply



#7 vectra666

vectra666

    No1. Lurker

  • Layout Creator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 8881 posts

Donator

Posted 10 February 2020 - 07:49 PM

Cool. Most of mines are DX layouts, the only classics i have is nitro otherwise i probably would have put dx and classic in the file names as well. Ive ordered a 16gb thumb drive just for backing up fruit emu stuff only, which gives me tons of room. Do you have all the different layouts in the same folder then, so you know which emulator to use? Thanks for the reply

they're all in one folder along with the emulator, i only use the latest mfme (v19'8 currently ) for 90% of layouts i still have v5 for converting older dat'files and 6.1 for astra multiplayers but mainly 19.8 plays all layouts

 

other end of the folder

 

wip folder is the same

Attached Files


Edited by vectra666, 10 February 2020 - 07:55 PM.

The more I do today, The less I do tomorrow.
Fme is alive and screaming into the 21st century!
Enjoy FME and Happy Gaming!!!!

#8 CharlieRaymondo

CharlieRaymondo

    Advanced Member

  • Regulars
  • 571 posts

Posted 10 February 2020 - 11:46 PM

they're all in one folder along with the emulator, i only use the latest mfme (v19'8 currently ) for 90% of layouts i still have v5 for converting older dat'files and 6.1 for astra multiplayers but mainly 19.8 plays all layouts
 
other end of the folder
 
wip folder is the same


The same for me too Vecs. Can't do without v5 either

#9 innfection

innfection

    Requestor/Bug Finder/Resourcer/

  • Regulars
  • 622 posts

Posted 10 February 2020 - 11:47 PM

I have my folders
V6.1 machines
V19 machines
And a folder called fruit machines which is all v5 lower

Resourcer/Bug Finder 


#10 chris82

chris82

    Newbie

  • Regulars
  • 46 posts

Posted 11 February 2020 - 08:18 AM

I use 19.8 for near enough everything and v5 for converting some first before playing in 19.8. I’ve got the rest of the mfme versions which il probably never need but they are also in my fruit emulation folder for a just incase moment. @innfection does your 6.1 machines run in 19.8

#11 CharlieRaymondo

CharlieRaymondo

    Advanced Member

  • Regulars
  • 571 posts

Posted 11 February 2020 - 01:41 PM

All that run in v6 should automatically run in v19 shouldn't they? It is only v5 that you have to run when opening pre v6 layouts from what I am doing.

#12 chris82

chris82

    Newbie

  • Regulars
  • 46 posts

Posted 11 February 2020 - 02:02 PM

All that run in v6 should automatically run in v19 shouldn't they? It is only v5 that you have to run when opening pre v6 layouts from what I am doing.

 

I thought if it doesn't run in v19 then run in v5, save it the it should the run in v19. Ive got v6 but dont use it



#13 CharlieRaymondo

CharlieRaymondo

    Advanced Member

  • Regulars
  • 571 posts

Posted 11 February 2020 - 05:23 PM

I thought if it doesn't run in v19 then run in v5, save it the it should the run in v19. Ive got v6 but dont use it


Yes, I know that but was talking from a v6 point of view. Think it is beneficial for non windows 10 users as they cannot use v19.

#14 TommyC

TommyC

    Layout Designer

  • Layout Creator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2750 posts

Posted 11 February 2020 - 05:36 PM

You only use mfme v 5 to convert .dat files to .fml files,that is alls it's used for.


Hold the bells mate.

#15 Geddy

Geddy

    The Dat Man

  • Moderators
  • 3367 posts

Donator

Posted 12 February 2020 - 05:41 PM

I use the datafiles I maintain for use in CLRMame... I used these for.... phew a very long time now. :)



#16 chris82

chris82

    Newbie

  • Regulars
  • 46 posts

Posted 12 February 2020 - 10:50 PM

So to clarify in a nutshell you only really need to use mfme 5 to convert and save then if your a windows 10 user you play the saved layouts in 19.8 or the latest available version and if you are a windows 7 user you use 5 to convert and save and then use 6 as 19 or the latest version won’t work?

#17 shaun2097

shaun2097

    Senior Member

  • Regulars
  • 978 posts

Posted 12 February 2020 - 11:17 PM

So to clarify in a nutshell you only really need to use mfme 5 to convert and save then if your a windows 10 user you play the saved layouts in 19.8 or the latest available version and if you are a windows 7 user you use 5 to convert and save and then use 6 as 19 or the latest version won’t work?

Correct... 5.1 used as a converter, v19+ for win 10, and v6.1 for win 7 :)


Former Fruit Machine Engineer.<br /><br /> 1988-2004.

#18 chris82

chris82

    Newbie

  • Regulars
  • 46 posts

Posted 12 February 2020 - 11:39 PM

Thanks :-)

#19 CharlieRaymondo

CharlieRaymondo

    Advanced Member

  • Regulars
  • 571 posts

Posted 13 February 2020 - 07:58 AM

Your welcome




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users