Recent Machines

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 funy

funy

• New Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 29 August 2003 - 05:40 PM

Hi, im fairly new to the scene, and most of the machines ive seen on here are fairly old and things like £15/10/£6 jackpots. And i assume this is just becuase of the fact that if you had emus of latest machines this might help people learn the machines and win?? i dunno.

Im just wondering if there is like a certain amount of time before a machine wont be in general circulation or get converted to a rom. Or is it just down to someone buying the machine and grabbing the rom?

There are some good machines around these days i wouldnt mind having a go at on my pc. Just wondering if they are ever likely to get done

#2 Wozza

Wozza

Advanced Member

• Gold Supporters
  • 453 posts

Posted 29 August 2003 - 07:16 PM

Funy,

You are partialy right, the limitation is really down to the Machines technology, as only certain technology can be emulated at the moment e.g MPU4 can be emulated but MPU5 can't so as most new machines use the never technology they remain unemulated, there are some new releases that use the older technology but not many. The other restriction is the avalability of the artwork (photos) and ROMS (need to extract from a real machine).

The good rule of thumb is that if a machine is older than 3 years it can probably be emulated as long as artwork, ROMS and the right techology.

Hope that helps

Wozza
Wozza

#3 Bencrest

Bencrest

The furniture

• New Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7446 posts

Posted 30 August 2003 - 06:41 PM

I think its pretty funny, am I the only one that finds modern JPM machines [i.e Tomb Raider] to be flat as hell to play? Good thing is, that due to them not [as far as I am aware], upgrading the Impact technology, we can emulate their most recent machines, i.e Tomb Raider.