Barcrest MPU6?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 shaun2097

shaun2097

• Regulars
  • 993 posts

Posted 10 March 2008 - 03:56 PM

Ive been reading with interest that there is now a mpu6.
Does this mean that in 12 months or so that there will be a lot more mpu5 emus?
or will barcrest continue to use the mpu5 for sometime to come making it still a grey area?

this question is directed more towards the engineers on this site such as bazz as they will be more in the know than the rest of us.
also if they have there hands on on of these mpu6, then any chance of some specs? i only ask because being an ex engineer i do like to try and keep upto date
Former Fruit Machine Engineer.<br /><br /> 1988-2004.

#2 Bencrest

Bencrest

The furniture

• New Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7446 posts

Posted 10 March 2008 - 04:51 PM

Is there an MPU6?

If so, I don't think it's used on any of their AWP (reel based at least) stuff at the minute.

#3 shaun2097

shaun2097

• Regulars
  • 993 posts

Posted 10 March 2008 - 04:56 PM

i may be wrong but i think that its in use in the Ca$hino Delux model

#4 mythicos

mythicos

• New Members
  • PipPip
  • 553 posts

Posted 10 March 2008 - 05:18 PM

OK dont hold me to any of this. But, MPU6 from what I have heard is nothing more than mpu5 with more protection bolted on and all kinds of security toys.

IE - serial linking
Network capability
Some kind of alarm system where it can let you know remotely that someone is f*****g with it.

It's all been carried out by IGT (a US based company that own crest) and has been done for no other reason than the fact that theyre paranoid americans who will put in as much protection to protect whats theirs as they can.

One of their US systems use 4 cpus and 16 eproms, Bally use 24 eproms, just to give you an idea (and those uber complex systems run pull arm slot machines).

Overkill as usual from the Americans.
Not to be confused with illiterate f***wipes.

#5 shaun2097

shaun2097